Districts

Schönberg / Great Pond / Bear Pond

Schoenberg 2020.jpg

Schönberg, which is popular at all times of the year, is the southernmost settlement in Saxony.

It was first mentioned in 1261 as "Schoniberch" and thus bears the former name of the Kapellenberg = "beautiful mountain".

The Marienkirche, the castle (private property) as well as the freely accessible manor graves in the castle park are worth seeing. Also the remains of the old chapel "St. Ursula" on the slope of the Kapellenberg, the Zahnwehbrünnlein and of course the Kapellenberg tower with its great view of the Egerland (Czech Republic).

The southernmost mineral spring is located near the border with the Czech Republic, embedded in the forest,

the "Schönberger Säuerling", which can be tasted with pleasure.

The place is particularly proud of its famous "son" Siegfried Steiger, who saw the light of day here in 1929. He is the founder of the "Björn Steiger Foundation" and became the architect of modern rescue services in Germany and Europe. The uniform emergency numbers 110 and 112 go back to him.

The large pond is a unique breeding habitat for water birds, but bathing is also allowed.

Bear Village

Baerendorf 2.jpg

Bärendorf is the highest village (720m) in the upper Vogtland. Founded by the Schönberg manor, it was first mentioned in 1577 as "Berntorff", the name of which refers to the village "where there were bears".

Today the "Bärendorfer Schupfen" (a converted barn), with its music and dance events, is a magnet for guests from near and far. These are organized and carried out by the "Dorfensemble Bärendorf" on fixed dates from May to September.

Bärendorf is also an ideal starting point for a hike to the Elsterquelle (Czech Republic).

Hohendorf

Hohendorf.jpg

Hohendorf stretches from the northern slope of the Kapellenberg down to the valley of the stream of the same name, where three former mills connect to Bad Brambach.

In 1395 it was first mentioned in a document as "Hohdorff". From 1474 it was called "Hondorff", which roughly means "to the high-lying village".

The inhabitants of the small cottages initially found employment as forest and quarry workers, but from the 2nd half of the 19th century mainly in bow making. Under the influence of Bad Brambach, the place developed more and more into a summer resort and increasingly accommodated holiday guests.

Even today, far away from industry and large cities, they enjoy the wooded mountain ranges and spacious valleys.

In the center of the village, the "Dorfcafe" invites you to take a break. Tel .: 037438/21194

Oberbrambach / Frauengrün / Kleedorf

Oberbrambach_edited.jpg

Oberbrambach is part of the municipality of Bad Brambach in the Upper Vogtland. It was officially incorporated in 1972. The village is known as a historically significant spring location with its former soda factory, which moved to a new, modern production building north of the B92 in 1996 as Bad Brambacher Mineralquellen GmbH. The street name Sprudelstraße still reminds of them.

If you hike from Oberbrambach in the direction of Gürther Kreuz and Raun, you will quickly reach the youngest settlement around Bad Brambach, the Frauengrün district, nestled in romantic meadow valleys and forest.

Kleedorf is about 2 km west of Oberbrambach. Interesting hiking trails lead from here through untouched nature.

Rohrbach / Hennebach

Rohrbach_edited.jpg

The village of Rohrbach was first mentioned under the name Rorbach in 1185. The important trade route Leipzig - Eger once ran through the village. It crossed the border with Bohemia here and reached its greatest height in the Rohrbach district at 650 m above sea level. The quarter milestone remained as a traffic-historical testimony. Since 1950 it has been in its original location in Rohrbach on the old Poststrasse (corner of Grenzweg / Wiesengrund).

The Hennebach residential area on the Hennebach or Hannabach of the same name (Czech: Pstruhový potok) belongs to Rohrbach, to the east, directly on the Czech border and equally scattered.

If you are driving to Landwüst (or back) from Bad Brambach, a stop at the Waldimbiß in Hennebach ("Hammerl") is recommended. Rustic wooden furniture invites you to linger in a sheltered location. Further information: Tel .: 037438 - 21733

Raun / Raunergrund / Gürth

Raun.jpg

Raun is a typical Waldhufendorf , which was first mentioned in 1378 as "Rüwen" or "Run".

The railway separates the village into Oberdorf and Unterdorf. In addition to the important chapel, Egerland half-timbered gables determine the appearance of Raun as a settlement on many farmhouses.

The Lohhäuser, Raunergrund and Raunerhammer are off the beaten track .

The restaurant "Rauner Hof" is in the center of the village and the "Felsenkeller" is located in Raunergrund on the B92, Tel: 037438/20502

Gürth is about 2 km away from Raun and was incorporated there in 1950.

In 1994 Gürth came to Bad Brambach through the incorporation of Rauns.

Some farmsteads in the Egerland style have been preserved in the village.

Valuable details of the former half-timbered building and historic courtyard entrances can still be discovered here.

Ortsteile

Schönberg/ Großer Teich/ Bärenteich

Schoenberg 2020.jpg

Bei dem zu allen Jahreszeiten gern besuchten Schönberg handelt es sich um die südlichste Ansiedlung Sachsens.

Erwähnt wurde es erstmals 1261 als "Schoniberch" und trägt somit den einstigen Namen des Kapellenberges = "schöner Berg".

Sehenswert sind die Marienkirche, das Schloss (Privatbesitz) sowie die frei zugänglichen Herrengräber im Schlosspark. Auch die Überreste der alten Kapelle "St. Ursula" am Hang des Kapellenberges, das Zahnwehbrünnlein und natürlich der Kapellenbergturm mit seiner tollen Aussicht ins Egerland (Tschechien).

Nahe der Grenze zu Tschechien, eingebettet im Wald, liegt die südlichste Mineralquelle,

der "Schönberger Säuerling", der gerne verkostet werden darf.

Besonders Stolz ist der Ort auf seinen berühmten "Sohn" Siegfried Steiger, der hier 1929 das Licht der Welt erblickte. Er ist der Gründer der "Björn Steiger Stiftung" und wurde zum Architekten des modernen Rettungsdienstes in Deutschland und Europa. Auf ihn gehen die einheitlichen Notrufnummern 110 und 112 zurück.

Der Große Teich ist ein einzigartiges Brutbiotop für Wasservögel, es darf aber auch gebadet werden.

Bärendorf

Baerendorf 2.jpg

Bärendorf ist die höchstgelegene Ortschaft (720m) des oberen Vogtlandes. Vom Rittergut Schönberg gegründet, erfuhr es 1577 als "Berntorff" erste urkundliche Erwähnung, wobei der Name auf das Dorf "wo es Bären gab" hindeutet. 

Heute ist der "Bärendorfer Schupfen" (eine ausgebaute Scheune), mit seinen Musik- und Tanzveranstaltungen ein Magnet für Gäste aus Nah und Fern. Diese werden zu festgelegten Terminen von Mai bis September vom "Dorfensemble Bärendorf" organisiert und durchgeführt.

Bärendorf ist auch ein idealer Ausgangspunkt für eine Wanderung zur Elsterquelle (Tschechien).

Hohendorf
 

Hohendorf.jpg

Hohendorf zieht sich vom Nordhang des Kapellenberges bis ins Tal des gleichnamigen Baches hinab, wo drei ehemalige Mühlen die Verbindung zu Bad Brambach herstellen.

1395 wurde es als "Hohdorff" erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Ab 1474 hieß es "Hondorff", was etwa "zum hochgelegenen Dorf" bedeutet. 

Die Einwohner der kleinen Häusleranwesen fanden zunächst als Wald-und Steinbrucharbeiter Beschäftigung, ab der 2. Hälfte des 19. Jh. aber vorwiegend in der Bogenmacherei. Unter dem Einfluss von Bad Brambach entwickelte sich der Ort mehr und mehr zur Sommerfrische und beherbergte zunehmend Feriengäste.

Diese genießen auch heute, fernab von Industrie und Großstädten, die waldreichen Höhenzüge und weitläufigen Täler.

In der Ortsmitte lädt das "Dorfcafe" zu einer Rast ein.  Tel.: 037438/21194

Oberbrambach/ Frauengrün/ Kleedorf

Oberbrambach_edited.jpg

Oberbrambach gehört als Ortsteil zur Gemeinde Bad Brambach im Oberen Vogtland. Eingemeindet wurde es offiziell 1972. Das Dorf ist als historisch bedeutsamer Quellort mit seiner ehemaligen Sprudelfabrik bekannt, die 1996 als Bad Brambacher Mineralquellen GmbH in ein neues modernes Produktionsgebäude nördlich der B92 zog. An sie erinnert noch die Straßenbezeichnung Sprudelstraße.

Wandert man von Oberbrambach Richtung Gürther Kreuz und Raun weiter, so erreicht man in kürzester Zeit die jüngste Siedlung um Bad Brambach, den Ortsteil Frauengrün, eingebettet in romantische Wiesentäler und Wald.

Kleedorf liegt ca 2 Km westlich von Oberbrambach. Von hier aus führen interessante Wanderwege durch unberührte Natur.

Rohrbach/ Hennebach

Rohrbach_edited.jpg

Das Dorf Rohrbach wird unter dem Namen Rorbach bereits 1185 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Durch das Dorf führte einst die wichtige Handelsstraße Leipzig – Eger. Sie querte hier die Grenze zu Böhmen und erreichte in der Gemarkung Rohrbachs mit 650 m über NN ihre größte Höhe. Der Viertelmeilenstein blieb als verkehrsgeschichtliches Zeugnis zurück. Seit 1950 steht er an seiner ursprünglichen Stelle in Rohrbach an der alten Poststraße (Ecke Grenzweg/Wiesengrund).

Zu Rohrbach gehört der östlich, direkt an der tschechischen Grenze und ebenso zerstreut liegende Wohnplatz Hennebach am gleichnamigen Henne- bzw. Hannabach (tschech.: Pstruhový potok). 

 

Wenn man aus Richtung Bad Brambach nach Landwüst (oder zurück) fährt, ist eine Einkehr im Waldimbiß in Hennebach ("Hammerl") zu empfehlen. Urige Holzmöbel laden in windgeschützer Lage zum Verweilen ein. Weitere Infos: Tel.: 037438 - 21733

Raun/ Raunergrund/ Gürth

Raun.jpg

Raun ist ein typisches Waldhufendorf, welches 1378  als "Rüwen" bzw "Run" erstmalige Erwähnung fand.

Die Eisenbahn trennt das Dorf in Ober- und Unterdorf. Neben der bedeutsamen Kapelle bestimmen Egerländer Fachwerkgiebel an vielen Bauernhäusern das Siedlungsbild von Raun.

Abseits liegen die Lohhäuser, der Raunergrund und Raunerhammer.

Im Dorfzentrum befindet sich die Gaststätte "Rauner Hof" und im Raunergrund an der B92 der "Felsenkeller" Tel: 037438/20502

Gürth liegt ca 2Km von Raun entfernt und ​wurde 1950 dorthin eingemeindet.

1994 kam Gürth dann durch die Eingemeindung Rauns zu Bad Brambach. 

Im Ort haben sich einige Gehöfte in der Egerländer Bauweise erhalten.

Wertvolle Details des einstigen Fachwerkbaus und historische Hofeinfahrten sind hier immer noch zu entdecken.